CenterState CEO Directors Selected to Co-chair Micron’s Community Engagement Committee

Go Back
A woman stands at a podium. A man stands behind her holding a piece of paper.

Two members of CenterState CEO’s board of directors will lead Micron’s newly established Community Engagement Committee. Melanie Littlejohn, vice president for New York Customer and Community Management at National Grid, and Tim Penix, vice president of SUNY Syracuse Educational Opportunity Center, were selected for their years or service and dedication to the Central New York community.

The Committee will be tasked with creating a Community Priorities Document with Micron, Empire State Development and other community stakeholders. The priorities set by this Committee will guide spending of the $500 million Community Investment Fund to new and existing opportunities for Central New Yorkers. The Fund and the creation of the Committee are both parts of the Community Investment Framework agreement between New York State and Micron signed in October 2022. CenterState CEO was part of negotiation efforts with Micron and regional partners to ensure these commitments were included in this transformative deal.[CG1] 

The Committee is expected to focus on workforce development and diversity, educational training, housing, child care and transportation among other community issues.

In addition to Littlejohn and Penix, 12 other community leaders will sit on the committee. Their areas of expertise range from housing and education to refugee services and environmental justice. There will also be five members associated with Micron, local, and state government that will be on the committee in an advisory capacity.

Full list of Committee members:

  • Melanie Littlejohn, Co-chair – vice president for New York Customer and Community Management, National Grid*
  • Tim Penix, Co-chair – vice president, SUNY Syracuse Educational Opportunity Center*
  • April Arnzen – Senior vice president and Chief People Officer, Micron*
  • Karen Belcher – Executive Director, Food Bank of Central New York*
  • Donna DeSiato – Superintendent, East Syracuse Minoa School District
  • Bishop Ronald Dewberry – senior pastor, New Life Temple of Praise
  • Kristi Eck – Chief of Staff, SUNY Oswego*
  • Courtney Geduldig – corporate vice president, Global Public and Government Affairs, Micron*
  • Mark Hall – President and CEO, Syracuse Community Health*
  • Jasenko Mondom – Employment Specialist, Refugee Assistance Program, Syracuse City School District
  • Meg O'Connell – Executive Director, Allyn Family Foundation*
  • Hazel Powless – Haudenosaunne Environmental Task Force, Onondaga Nation
  • Kerry Quaglia – Founder and CEO, Home HeadQuarters*
  • Sheena Solomon – Executive Director, The Gifford Foundation*

Ex Officio Members

  • Rob Beard – SVP and General Counsel, Micron*
  • Kevin Younis – chief operating officer and Executive Deputy Commissioner, Empire State Development
  • Isabelle Harris – Director of Strategic Initiatives, Onondaga County
  • Sharon Owens – Deputy Mayor, City of Syracuse
  • Damian Ulatowski – Supervisor, Town of Clay

*CenterState CEO member

Photo caption: Melanie Littlejohn (at podium) and Tim Penix speak at the announcement of Micron’s Community Engagement Committee. Littlejohn and Penix will co-chair the Committee. Photo: Darren McGee/Office of Governor Kathy Hochul.

Post Date

May 3rd 2023